TQEH Research Day 2017 – Friday 20 October

The Basil Hetzel Institute for Translational Health Research holds an annual TQEH Research Day every October. Research Day provides researchers in training the opportunity to gain valuable experience in delivering an oral or poster presentation before a broad audience. The work presented at Research Day must have been substantially undertaken at the Basil Hetzel Institute, The Queen Elizabeth Hospital and not have been previously presented at Research Day.

Sponsorship enables prizes to be awarded for Best Oral Presentations, Best Poster and Best Lay Description. In 2016 prizes were awarded in the following categories (these categories are subject to change each year):

  • 5 prizes worth $1000 each were awarded in the following categories: Honours & Summer Vacation Students, Junior PhD Students (Laboratory), Senior PhD Students (Laboratory), Clinical Research Group 1 (Clinical Trainees) and Clinical Research Group 2 (Clinical Higher Degrees)
  • 1 prize of $500 was offered in the poster category
  • 1 prize of $350 was offered for the Best Lay Description (100 words maximum)

A call for abstracts will be made on Monday 3 July 2017. Further details about the abstract submission process will be added to this webpage at this time. The abstract closing date will be Monday 21 August 2017, 5pm deadline. No late abstracts will be accepted.

Enquiries about TQEH Research Day can be directed to Lisa Leopardi, Chair of TQEH Research Day Organising Committee (committee members listed below).

2017 TQEH Research Day Organising Committee

ChairMs Lisa LeopardiDiscipline of Surgery, TQEH+61 8 8222 6759lisa.leopardi@sa.gov.au
Deputy ChairDr Prue CowledDiscipline of Surgery, University of Adelaide+61 8 8222 7541prue.cowled@adelaide.edu.au
MemberMs Gwenda GravesBHI Research Secretariat+61 8 8222 6870gwenda.graves@sa.gov.au
MemberDr Rebecca AndersonBHI Communications Officer+61 8 8222 7345rebecca.anderson@adelaide.edu.au
MemberMs Kathryn HudsonBHI Facilities Manager+61 8222 7427kathryn.hudson@sa.gov.au
MemberDr Sarah AppletonDiscipline of Medicine, University of Adelaide+61 8 8222 7349sarah.appleton@adelaide.edu.au
MemberDr Yuliy ChirkovCardiology Unit, TQEH+61 8 8133 4010yuliy.chirkov@adelaide.edu.au
MemberDr Jenny Hardingham Department of Haematology and Medical Oncology, TQEH+61 8 8222 6142
MemberMs Sue LesterRheumatology Unit, TQEH+61 9133 4026susan.lester@sa.gov.au
MemberMs Fiona SmithsonThe Hospital Research Foundation+61 8 8244 1100fsmithson@hospitalresearch.com.au
MemberDr Dan WijesundaraDiscipline of Surgery, University of Adelaide+61 8 8222 7368danushka.wijesundara@adelaide.edu.au
MemberA/Prof Joanne YoungDepartment of Haematology and Medical Oncology, TQEH+61 8 8222 8695joanne.young@adelaide.edu.au
Proxy for Fiona SmithsonMs Julia SkinnerThe Hospital Research Foundation+61 8 244 1100jskinner@hospitalresearch.com.au

TQEH Research Day 2016 – 25th Anniversary

2016 TQEH Research Day Award Winners

Congratulations to the 25th Anniversary of TQEH Research Day’s Prize Winners (L-R: Ben Thurston, Scott Ellis, Professor Guy Maddern (Director of Research, TQEH), Dijana Miljkovic, Vasilios (Bill) Liapis, Vahid Atashgaran and Bahador Assadi-Khansari). TQEH Research Day 2016 took place on Friday 21 October. Prize winners and names of sponsors can be found in the table below. The 2016 Plenary Lecture was given by the CEO of the NHMRC, Professor Anne Kelso AO.

The TQEH Research Day Programme 2016 includes abstracts for all poster and oral presentations.

We thank the generous sponsors of TQEH Research Day 2016: The Hospital Research Foundation, The University of Adelaide (Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences), The University of South Australia (School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences), Southern Cross Science, SARSTEDT Australia, John Morris Group, VWR International Pty Ltd, ThermoFisher Scientific Inc., Beckmann Coulter, Eppendorf, Merck and Lonza/PeproTech.



2016 TQEH Research Day Award Winners

CategoryPrize SponsorWinnerTQEH Department/BHI Research Group
Best Oral Presentation: Honours and Summer StudentsThe Hospital Research FoundationBahador Assadi-KhansariCardiology/Cardiovascular Pathophysiology & Therapeutics Group
Best Oral Presentation: Junior Laboratory PhD studentsSarstedt Australia and The Hospital Research Foundation (co-sponsored)Vahid AtashgaranSurgery/Breast Biology and Cancer Unit
Best Oral Presentation: Senior Laboratory PhD studentsThe University of AdelaideDijana MiljkovicSurgery/ENT Surgery
Best Oral Presentation: Clinical TraineesThe Hospital Research FoundationBen ThurstonSurgery/Vascular Surgery Research Group
Best Oral Presentation: Clinical Higher Degree StudentsThe University of South AustraliaScott EllisSurgery/Surgical Science Research Group
Poster PrizeSouthern Cross ScienceVasilios (Bill) LiapisSurgery/Breast Cancer Research Unit
Best Lay DescriptionJohn Morris GroupVasilios (Bill) LiapisSurgery/Breast Cancer Research Unit


TQEH Research Day 2015

2015 TQEH Research Day Award Winners

2015 TQEH Research Day Award Winners

CategoryPrize SponsorWinnerTQEH Department/BHI Research Group
Best Oral Presentation (Honours student)The Hospital Research FoundationAashray GuptaTranslational Vascular Function Research Collaborative
Best Oral Presentation (Junior Laboratory PhD student)Southern Cross Science and Lonza (co-sponsored)Bill LiapisBreast Cancer Research Unit
Best Oral Presentation (Senior Laboratory PhD student)LabGear and The Hospital Research Foundation (co-sponsored)Aneta ZyskBreast Cancer Research Unit
Best Oral Presentation (Junior Clinical Researcher)The University of AdelaideZoe KopsaftisClinical Practice Unit
Best Oral Presentation (Senior Clinical Researcher)The University of South AustraliaKristin CarsonClinical Practice Unit
Poster PrizeBeckman CoulterBen ThurstonVascular Surgery Research Group
Best Lay DescriptionQiagenKatharina RichterENT Surgery
Ivan De La Lande Awardn/aTharshy PasupathyTranslational Vascular Function Research Collaborative

The Plenary Speaker for the 2016 TQEH Research Day was Professor Steve Webb, Senior Staff Specialist, Intensive Care Medicine, Royal Perth Hospital & Clinical Professor University of Western Australia & Monash University.

We thank the 2015 sponsors of TQEH Research Day: The Hospital Research Foundation for their ongoing support. The University of Adelaide and the University of Adelaide for providing $1,000 for Oral Presentation Prizes, and the Committee of Graduate Studies for covering the costs of flights and accommodation for the plenary speaker. Additional companies who provided financial support and trade displays in 2015 included Interpath Services, Qiagen Pty Ltd, Thermo Fisher, Eppendorf, Pacific Laboratory Products, Merck Millipore, Southern Cross Science, Beckman Coulter, Coherent, Lonza and LabGear. We thank everyone for their involvement in a most successful event!