NHMRC Partnership Project Grant for the PAMICO Project

A National Health and Medical Research Council Partnership Project Grant, providing $1,499,233 in fu



29th TQEH Research Expo Award Winners

The 29th TQEH Research Expo, part of CALHN Research Week, was held on Thursday 15 and Friday 16 October 2020. Undergraduate, honours and postgraduate research students presented the results of their research in either mini-oral presentations (3 minutes plus questions) or oral presentations (10 minutes plus questions). This year's Plenary Lecture was given by Professor Toby Coates in a session chaired by Professor Guy Maddern, Director of Research at the BHI, TQEH. Overall 8 prizes were awarded to 8 different students from 5 different research groups based at the Basil Hetzel Institute, TQEH, with both the University of South Australia and The University of Adelaide represented. Full details of winners, sponsors and a slideshow of photos taken during the expo can be found here..

Professor John Beltrame is Australia’s most cited cardiology researcher

Congratulations to Professor John Beltrame, research leader of the Translational Vascular Function Research Collaborative at the Basil Hetzel Institute, TQEH, for being named as the Australian cardiology researcher with the highest number of citations from papers published in the last 5 years in the top 20 journals in the field! The Australian’s Special Report covered 255 research fields, with 66 research field leaders being named in the area of Health and Medical Sciences. While The University of Adelaide was the “lead institution” in a few fields, including cardiology, Professor Beltrame was the only South Australian “field leader”..

Breast Biology and Cancer Unit wins a Publication of the Year Award

A publication from the PhD research of Dr Vahid Atashgaran has won the Society for Reproductive Biology - Reproduction, Fertility and Development (SRB-RFD) Publication of the Year Award, announced during the virtual AGM of the SRB held yesterday. Vahid completed his PhD, through the University of Adelaide, in the Breast Biology and Cancer Unit at the Basil Hetzel Institute, TQEH, under the supervision of Associate Professor Wendy Ingman, Dr Pallave Dasari and Professor Simon Barry. He was also awarded a Dean's Commendation for Doctoral Thesis Excellence. Vahid is currently working in the Tumour Microenvironment Laboratory at the Centre for Cancer Biology, University of South Australia. [photo: A/Prof Wendy Ingman with Dr Vahid Atashgaran after his graduation ceremony at The University of Adelaide in May 2019]..

$1.35M awarded for needle-free Zika virus vaccine

Dr Branka Grubor-Bauk and her Viral Immunology Group at the Basil Hetzel Institute, TQEH, have been awarded funding from the highly competitive Biomedical Translation Bridge (BTB) program (part of the Medical Research Future Fund) to develop a novel needle-free vaccine to prevent infection of pregnant women with Zika virus. The technology, developed in collaboration with industry partner Enesi Pharma, Oxford, UK, combines protective Zika virus DNA vaccine with Enesi Pharma's ImplaVax® Technology. If you are curious about how needle-free vaccination works watch this video!.

Early Career Award for Dr Katharina Richter

Dr Katharina Richter, NHMRC CJ Martin Postdoctoral Fellow in the Surgical Science Research Group, has been awarded a Jim Pittard Early Career Award from the Australian Society for Microbiology. This award is to “recognise distinguished contributions in any area of Australian research in microbiology by scientists in early stages of their career”. Each year the two recipients present their research at the Annual Scientific Meeting..

Rheumatologist Dr Huai Leng (Jessica) Pisaniello wins New Investigator Award

Dr Huai Leng (Jessica) Pisaniello, Rheumatology Research Group, was awarded the Australian Rheumatology Association's New Investigator Award following a webinar presentation with three other finalists in early August. These presentations were in lieu of the 60th Annual Scientific Meeting of the ARA. Jess presented part of her PhD work which was undertaken at the University of Manchester in the UK. The abstract from her presentation can be read here (#89)..

Dr Sam Costello a finalist in PhD Research Excellence Award

Dr Sam Costello, TQEH gastroenterologist and research leader of the Inflammatory Bowel Disease Research Group at the Basil Hetzel Institute, TQEH, has been named as one of three PhD Research Excellence Award finalists as part of the SA Excellence and Innovation Awards for 2020. Sam completed his PhD at The University of Adelaide in 2019. A date will be announced soon on which finalists and winners can be celebrated..

Three BHI students in Faculty Final of 3MT® Competition

The Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences at The University of Adelaide have announced the six finalists in their 3MT®  competition. Three of these are students based at the Basil Hetzel Institute, TQEH. Dr Huai Leng (Jessica) Pisaniello from the Rheumatology Research Group, Unyime Jasper from the Adelaide G-TRAC Centre and Gohar Shaghayegh from the ENT Surgery group. The Faculty's 3MT® Awards Presentation is taking place on Thursday August 20th from 2-3pm. Anyone can register to participate in this virtual event..

Dr Rachel Goggin receives a Dean’s Commendation for Doctoral Thesis Excellence

Dr Rachel Goggin completed her PhD in ENT Surgery under the supervision of Associate Professor Sarah Vreugde, Professor PJ Wormald and Associate Professor Alkis Psaltis. Her PhD thesis "The Role of Viruses in Chronic Rhinosinusitis" was conferred from The University of Adelaide and she received a Dean's Commendation for Doctoral Thesis Excellence. This photo shows Rachel being presented with the Best Oral Presentation by a Clinical Trainee at the 2018 TQEH Research Expo by the Director of Research at the Basil Hetzel Institute, TQEH, Professor Guy Maddern..