Professor PJ Wormald awarded an NHMRC Investigator Grant

Congratulations to Professor PJ Wormald (ENT Surgery) on being awarded one of only 12 National Healt



Finding ways to beat superbugs: Dr Katharina Richter

An article about Dr Katharina Richter's research within the ENT Surgery Group at the Basil Hetzel Institute, The Queen Elizabeth Hospital, appeared in Saturday's The Advertiser newspaper. She is one of 8 researchers from The University of Adelaide who are featured in videos as part of celebrations of Nobel Laureate Howard Florey's birth 120 years ago. Head of the Department of Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery at TQEH, and Research Leader of ENT Surgery, Professor PJ Wormald is another researcher featured in these videos [Florey 120 Anniversary]..

Three BHI researchers win NHMRC Early Career Fellowships

In the most recent announcement from the NHMRC, three early career fellowships have been won by BHI researchers who all completed their PhDs through the University of Adelaide while based at the Basil Hetzel Institute. Dr Vasilios (Bill) Panagopoulos, Breast Cancer Research Unit, and Dr Cher-Rin Chong, Cardiovascular Pathophysiology and Therapeutics Group, were each awarded NHMRC Peter Doherty Biomedical Early Career Fellowships, while Dr Katharina Richter, ENT Surgery, was awarded an NHMRC CJ Martin Early Career Fellowship. In addition to these fellowships, Professor PJ Wormald, also from ENT Surgery, secured a NHMRC Development Grant valued at over $500,000. South Australia was awarded a total of 23 early career fellowships and development grants, so to have 4 awarded to BHI researchers is a fantastic achievement. Follow the links to each individual to find out more..

Mian wins the People’s Choice Award at the national IMPACT7 2018 event

On Thursday 9 August 2018 Mian Li Ooi, a PhD student in ENT Surgery at the Basil Hetzel Institute, received the IMPACT7 2018 People's Choice Award in Melbourne, Victoria. IMPACT7 is an annual event that brings together researchers from across Australia to present solutions to some for the world's most pressing challenges. Presenters had three minutes to pitch their projects to an audience of fellow researchers, judges and high school students. All presenters had attended a "pitch camp" on the Wednesday, during which a CSIRO team and facilitators from their accelerator ON program were available to assist researchers with their pitch..

Australian Centre for HIV and Hepatitis Virology Awards to Dr Danushka Wijesundara and Zelalem Mekonnen

Two BHI researchers from the Virology Group, led by Professor Eric Gowans, received major awards from the recent Australian Centre for HIV and Hepatitis Virology (ACH2) Conference which was held in the Yarra Valley from 6-8 June. The Hospital Research Foundation's Early Research Fellow Dr Danushka Wijesundara was awarded the Australian Centre for Hepatitis Virology (ACHV) Chris Burrell HCV International Travel Award (value $4000), while the ACHV Domestic Travel Award (value $1000) was awarded to PhD student Zelalem Mekonnen..

ASMR Ross Wishart Memorial Award won by Dr Katharina Richter

Congratulations to Dr Katharina Richter, from the ENT Surgery research group, for winning the Ross Wishart Memorial Award at the Australian Society for Medical Research (ASMR) Scientific Meeting in Adelaide last week. Another of the four finalists, Dr Sathish Paramasivan, is also from ENT Surgery. The Ross Wishart Memorial Award is given to the person who delivers the most outstanding presentation at the SA division's Annual Scientific Meeting during Medical Research Week. It is named in memory of Ross Wishart, a scientist and long-term member of the SA ASMR committee. Kati is continuing her research at the Basil Hetzel Institute where she completed her PhD (Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences - The University of Adelaide) in 2017.
The photo shows Kati (centre) receiving the award from ASMR SA State Convenor Miss Annabel Sorby-Adams, with ASMR Scientific Meeting Co-Convenor Dr Bill Panagopoulos announcing the award, which he won in 2017!

Congratulations to Dr Sivabaskari Pasupathy: Fresh Science SA Finalist for 2018

Congratulations to Dr Sivabaskari (Tharshy) Pasupathy, a postdoctoral research fellow in the Translational Vascular Function Research Collaborative at the BHI, TQEH, for being selected as one of 10 finalists in this year's Fresh Science SA competition. On Tuesday 12 June the finalists will undergo a full-day media and communication training at the SA Museum. Then on Wednesday 13 June they each present short talks to around 400 high school students, before participating in an event intended for members of the general public. Fresh Science is a national competition that helps early-career researchers share their stories of discovery and gain national media coverage for their work. If you'd like to hear about research being done by the 10 short-listed finalists then register for the free event being held on Wednesday 13 June from 6pm at The Elephant British Pub, 1 Cinema Place, Adelaide.  .

New VC for The University of Adelaide visits the BHI, TQEH

The new University of Adelaide Vice–Chancellor, Professor Peter Rathjen, visited The Queen Elizabeth Hospital and it's research facility the Basil Hetzel Institute, earlier today. Director of Research at TQEH, Professor Guy Maddern gave an overview of research activity at the BHI, TQEH, and then invited Prof Rathjen to field questions from researchers, the majority of whom are students of or are employed by The University of Adelaide. Prof Mike Brooks (DVC-R), Prof Alastair Burt (Executive Dean FHMS) and Prof Ian Symonds (Dean of Medicine) also attended and were able to provide additional information to researchers. (photo L-R: Dr Sam Costello, Prof Peter Rathjen, Dr Rob Byrant. Sam and Rob lead the Inflammatory Bowel Disease Research Group at the BHI, TQEH)..

Helen Palethorpe awarded Dean’s Commendation for Doctoral Thesis Excellence

Congratulations to Dr Helen Palethorpe for being awarded her PhD and receiving a Dean's Commendation for Doctoral Thesis Excellence from The University of Adelaide. Helen completed her PhD with in the Surgical Sciences Research Group at the Basil Hetzel Institute, TQEH, under the supervision of Dr Paul Drew and Dr Eric Smith. Her thesis title was "Fibroblasts, Androgen Signalling and Oesophageal Adenocarcinoma". Her PhD studies were supported by a scholarship from the Faculty of Health Sciences, The University of Adelaide..